Lead Testers and Lead Testing

As I exit a project with disappointing results for me personally, I’m motivated to re-invent my role by combining select experiences from past projects.  At the start of my next project, my conversation with project team members might take on this flavor.

My role as test lead is to facilitate testing, advocate for smart testing, and to guide testing within our project.  Developers may create and execute unit tests, and analysts may evaluate product definitions; both are testing activities.  I encourage them to collaborate early with project testers for feedback, to augment the testing, and to identify automation opportunities.  The goal is not a fully tested product; the goal is verifying business behavior that delivers value at a rapid pace.

I go into the project with a position of achieving 100% automation.  I’m not advocating for 100% rather I’m setting a goal of 100%.  I want to use automation to demonstrate behavior not just after a product is complete, but frequently as we make changes to the product.  I want our automation to provide confidence to our team so they can continue to add functionality, explore different implementations, optimize the product for performance, and verify we still deliver business value.

I will foster a sense of community as we explore the details of the design.  Together, I want to create definitions of our products that we can build and evaluate quickly, products that we are proud to demonstrate, value that distinguishes us in the marketplace.  As equals at the drawing board, I want our team to collaborate, to challenge, and to bring their diverse talents for a common purpose.

Our project will likely required services and integration with other parts of our enterprise.  I want to meet with them soon, share our story and engage their team to assist us.  I believe a proactive approach helps them prepare better, makes them more willing to participate, and contributes to our mutual success.

The Shift Left
The role of Test Lead is no longer confined to leading a team of testers, it must lead all testing within the project.  With “Shift Left” continuing to gain momentum, the Test Lead’s focus and responsibility grows to guide the testing of the project such that product definitions are clear, small bits of code are exercised, and value is demonstrated.  Success will depend more on your ability to support team building and encourage effective collaboration than testing or technical skill.

Leave a Reply

