An Experiment for 2016

I missed writing.  I think about it every day but it’s like drooling over a pizza ad.  It’s nice but pizza with the family is much more satisfying, leaves an impression, and has more impact.  My inspiration to return came from Julie Zhuo reminding me of many great things I have read about writing – thank you Julie!

I focused a bunch of time on building a new web site for my hobby.  I like building it and I like testing it.  It gives me an opportunity to stretch my testing muscles lest they atrophy from the daily experience and negotiation of leading a testing team.  I enjoy the test lead role but when I need to do something to relax, I code and I test.

With a large and successful project behind me, I had an opportunity to catch up with our testing community.  Notably, I finally read Specification By Example (SBE) by Gojko Adzic (I realize I’m late to the party on this one).  I was seven chapters deep and realized I’ve miss so many opportunities to implement SBE ideas.  Then, there was a post on an internal blog recommending all testers read the book.  There was a momentarily satisfaction that my actions and the universe had aligned.

Ever since I started automating test cases, I was apprehensive about their existence beyond the end of the project.  We live in a very dynamic industry so the solution we implemented would inevitably change.  My tests would fail when change hit some critical mass.  I resolved to do better but better was to recommend caution around what was automated.  My constant challenge was writing automation that could survive change AND deliver a valid result.  I was a little successful but not always satisfied.

SBE crystallized my reasons for cautious automation.  I was unable to articulate why because I hadn’t found a suitable alternative.  But the logic and wisdom of automating business outcomes resonated with me.  The business outcome has a much lower frequency of change so automation makes sense.
It also defined why I had such apprehension.  What I have seen is automation of not only business outcome, but automation of test cases that provide little information just because they could be automated.  I also saw automation evaluating lower level functionality – which is valuable – but it was executed from the UI.  Both of these added technical debt and impeded project pace.

With the new year and a new project, I’m ready to experiment (it feels more like a hurricane of righteous purpose but I’ll calm down after a bit).  I discovered that our Requirements/Business Analyst community also favors the approach.  So far, I’ve suggested SBE to two other projects and the response is positive.

 

 

Leave a Reply

