The Testing Mindset Spectrum

I’ve been collaborating with a colleague to facilitate conversations with testers on transforming our thinking around testing.  We’ve explored many topics including mindsets.  I mused on mindsets a bit and wanted to share this spectrum.

Where We Might Be Where We Might Go
All testing challenges are the same All testing challenges require a response based on context
A test will pass or fail A test provides a result and information that may need further investigation
I do the same thing everyday I change my approach to purposefully diversify my coverage
I’m on my own I collaborate with team members
I learn what I need on the job I participate in testing communities on my own time, and share what I learn
Someone will eventually initiate some testing process improvements I design, practice, and report on process experiments that help improve testing in my enterprise
My weekly metrics tell the whole story Our reporting is frequent, sometimes informal, assists in scheduling, and offers a balance of fact-based conclusions and opinions
I join projects late I add demonstrative value at every stage of the project
I can’t start testing until my strategy is complete My strategy provides guidance; it will grow and evolve
I have a script to execute I know what I want to explore
Without a UI, I can’t test I discuss testability opportunities with the project team
I collect all my own information I share information to help the testing team

What mindsets would you add?

4 thoughts on “The Testing Mindset Spectrum

  1. Pingback: Testing News – 5/25/14 – 5/31/14 | Testing Curator Blog

  2. ubir1

    great post! I like to add ‘I start working when someone tell me to test something’, which might be ‘I observe and think about everything, about every technology, about how they works, about how can do them, then when somebody tell me to test anything I start working with all previously gathered knowledge’

    Reply
  3. home renovation shows

    Hello there I am so grateful I found your weblog, I really found you by
    error, while I was searching on Askjeeve for something else,
    Anyways I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a incredible post and
    a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so
    when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the great jo.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

